14,000 children in our community are desperately needing nurturing homes.

Our experienced foster care staff will guide you through each step in becoming a foster parent; answering your questions, providing information and assisting you with the application and licensing process.

One child or two? Foster parents can choose whether they want to provide a home for one child or more. Or maybe a sibling group calls out to you. You will be asked to identify the ages and genders you are most comfortable with and the types of child(ren) for which you would like to provide care.

Upon placement of a child or youth has occurred, foster parents are supported 24/7 by Intermountain Staff. Staff assist and support foster parents to implement treatment interventions designated on a child or youths treatment plan.

Foster Parent College Training Schedule
Foster Care Online Training
Steps for Becoming a Foster Parent

Contact Us For Foster Care Services: (833) 528-0182

Si desea hablar con alguien en español para convertirse en un padre de crianza temporal, llame a Miriam Teran (520) 591-5942, Victory Durazo (928) 919-9304, o Izyajara “Izzy” Rivas (520) 609-6706.

Arizona Department of Child Safety
For more information, please contact:

Jack Smith
Foster Care Recruiter
Pima County

994 S. Harrison Blvd.
Tucson, AZ 85748
Phone: (520) 721-1887 ext. 5283
Fax: (520) 407-5398


Please complete this form or call us at the numbers below with any questions, if you would like more information or would like to get started.

Foster parents wanted.

Make a lifelong impact in a child's life.

Basic Licensing Requirements for Regular Foster Care Provider Homes:

  • Provider is 21 years of age or older and a legal resident of Arizona.
  • Valid fingerprint cards and criminal history background checks are required for all household members 18 years of age or older living in the home for at least 21 days a year.
  • Provider attends 30 hours of Foster Parent College training classes at no cost.
  • Pass a home fire and safety inspection by the Office of Licensing, Certification and Regulation.
  • Provide names, addresses and phone numbers of five references.
  • Provide a Physician’s Statement for all household members 18 years of age or older living in the home for at least 21 days a year.
  • Complete all required paperwork prior to licensing.
  • Work cooperatively with the licensing agency once the agency agrees to and supports the requested licensing of the family.
  • Provide current copies of your driver’s license, auto insurance, registration, proof of income, dog’s rabies vaccination and any prior marriage divorce decrees or legal separation papers.
  • Understand that getting licensed does not guarantee a child being placed in the home.
  • Agree to follow all requirements in title 21, chapter 6 of the Arizona Revised Statutes.
  • All foster children need appropriate space and accommodations.
  • Provide information about prior work experience with children, motivation for requesting licensure and any previous experience as a licensed foster parent in any state.
  • Demonstrate skills in working with a team, patience, compassion for youth, ability to work with biological parents and ability to make sound judgments regarding the care and nurturing of youth.